The basilica of Sant’Abbondio is an important Romanesque church in Como, built out of grey Moltrasio stone.
Its construction came about through the auspices of the third bishop of Como, Amanzio, having it built on the site of a pre-existing 5th century basilica dedicated to the apostles Peter and Paul. In the 9th century the church was consecrated to St. Abbondio, bishop of Como, who had been buried there four centuries earlier. In 1010 a community of Benedictine monks began the reconstruction of the basilica, demolishing the early Christian structure to rebuild in the Romanesque style.
Major works were also carried out in the ensuring centuries. The cloisters of the monastery close to the basilica were purchased by the City of Como, restored and upgraded to house the faculties of Law, Tourism Science and Language Mediation of the University of Insubria.